At Worlaby Academy, we want children to be happy and confident individuals with a love of learning.


We follow the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework (2021). Our curriculum is broad and balanced, providing opportunities for children to learn and develop their skills through play and high-quality interactions. Practitioners intervene and develop children’s play in line with the Early Learning Goals (ELG). A combination of child-initiated and adult-led activities support development throughout the seven areas of learning.

The EYFS is made up of three prime areas of learning:   

  • Communication and Language   
  • Physical Development   
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development  

There are four specific areas of learning through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:   

  • Literacy  
  • Mathematics   
  • Understanding the World  
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Children have access to a safe and stimulating learning environment (both indoors and outdoors) which is enhanced daily to reflect the needs and interests of the children.  

Our Outdoor Space


At Worlaby Academy, we use the Essential Letters and Sounds (ELS) phonics programme which teaches children to read using a systematic synthetic phonics approach. ELS teaches children to: 

  • decode by identifying each sound within a word and blending them together to read fluently and    
  • encode by segmenting each sound to write words accurately.  

Phonics lessons take place daily and opportunities to practise phonics skills are identified throughout the day during continuous provision.